Hawaiian Cleaner Wrasse vs. Cleaner Shrimp

Reefkeeping, Coral, Fish and Invertebrates.

Moderator: snoopdog

Taddster
Amoeba

Hawaiian Cleaner Wrasse vs. Cleaner Shrimp

Post by Taddster »

My tangs are have black spot. In the past, I always used hawaiian cleaner wrasses to pick my parasites. Sadly, once the parasites were eliminated the wrasses often starved and died. So, I am considering cleaner shrimp.

What do you all suggest? There really isnt a medicine on the fish market for black spot.
Peter Tad A.S. DePaola
B.S, B.F.A, B.A, M.S, Ph.D.
Specialized in Marine Cephalopods
Fishfood
Chromis
Are you a Bot ?: No

Post by Fishfood »

cleaner shrimp... there is no point purchasing something that will die after its food sorce is gone.
Taddster
Amoeba

Cleaner Shrimp

Post by Taddster »

I have never used cleaner shrimp before. This is why I asked the hawaiin wrasse is extremely effective. They just dont take on to commercial foods once the parasites are gone.
Peter Tad A.S. DePaola
Fishfood
Chromis

Post by Fishfood »

try a neon goby also.. Mine has been trying to get on the tang but the tang is having nothing to do with it. Before Ivan my old purple tang would swim up to the neon goby and open its mouth. The goby would go to work. I use to have a cleaner shrimp that would try to pick at my arm every time it was in the tank. I haven't had one for years though.
Taddster
Amoeba

Cleaner Shrimp

Post by Taddster »

Sounds great....

I will place my order for a half dozen or so.
Peter Tad A.S. DePaola
Fishfood
Chromis

Post by Fishfood »

I'm not sure how well they do in groups( neon gobies that is) but I know they act like a cleaner... I'm not sure how effective they are I just know mine use to set up a cleaning station and my purple tang would pull up and let the goby go at it.
Taddster
Amoeba

Cleaner Shrimp

Post by Taddster »

I will buy the shrimp instead of the wrasse
:D
Peter Tad A.S. DePaola
Scott
Goby

Post by Scott »